advice for short fantasy story.

I been writing a fantasy story and I don’t have a lot of time to write the entire book. So I was thinking to write a short story on here instead almost like a prequel to my original fantasy book. However I have no experience in writing short stories and whenever I do the story turns into a full length book.

Any advice? And how long is a short story exactly?

3 Likes

Google says;

Novel 40,000 words or over
Novella 17,500 to 39,999 words
Novelette 7,500 to 17,499 words
Short story under 7,500 words
6 Likes

aye!! That was fast lol

1 Like

Haha, that’s how I work :red_car::fire::sunglasses:

download

1 Like

I understand you’re just sharing what Google said, but that seems off. 40k seems tiny for a novel. Granted, I tend to read 200-300k fantasy epics, but I would have thought 60k to be the minimum. Though I suppose there is a difference between a middle school and adult novel.

40k is small but it depends on genre. Usually fantasy and science fiction have longer word counts. 40/50k is usually the minimum for other genres. Even agents tell debut authors it’s safer to cap fantasy at 90/100-125k if i’m not mistaken, maybe even 150k. It doesn’t mean they won’t ever consider larger word counts but the guidelines are generally comparable even though it’s not forever etched in stone.

1 Like

I’ve heard 50k is the limit.

Contemporary YA Romance for example can often be between 40-50k (it’s like a little snack book)

While most of the Fantasy books I read are definitely +60k

I think what Google means is probably just an estimate between all genres.

1 Like

This is good to know because here I’ve been calling my books novellas because they really aren’t that long but they actually are novels.

1 Like

I think it also varies from publisher to publisher. I’ve seen publishers only wanting novels with 50k+ words, so if you’re looking into publishing, make sure to check what their own individual standard is :slight_smile:

1 Like