Advice on getting critiques on Wattpad?

Hi everybody! I’m pretty new to Wattpad (been here less than 6 months), so any help is appreciated!

Does anybody have advice on the best way to get critiques/feedback for your Wattpad stories?

I’m aware there are certain threads on the forums here and on the main website, but it seems like the feedback there is usually one-sentence or none at all (I’ve been skipped/not replied to in those “rate my…” threads at least 4 times now). I’ve seen some review “books” on Wattpad, but they all seem to be closed or dead.

Is there another way I’m not aware of? A better way to find working critique threads/books? Does anybody have any tips on getting quality critiques? What’s been your experience receiving critiques for your work on Wattpad, and did you find it helpful/worth it?

Book clubs are a good way :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Thanks! :slight_smile: What’s a good way to find bookclubs to join?

1 Like

Searching “book club” and finding ones that include the word “open” in their title and have been updated recently.

2 Likes

Ah, so there are book clubs that are posted as stories. Got it.
Thanks, @FetchingPenumbra! I’ll have to try that.

2 Likes

First of all, welcome to Wattpad!

Personally, some of my best critiques have come from befriending other writers and exchanging feedback with them. It’s a win-win situation, and you get exposed to other writing styles, too!

Alternatively, there is a thread for critics to advertise their services over on the old threads:

https://www.wattpad.com/forums/vanilla/discussion/1208052/find-a-critic-or-reviewer-here-one-advert-only.-no-reposting-refreshed-june-13th

There are also people who run critique/review books that are open to submissions.

For these, just search something along the lines of “review book” or “critique book”.

Make sure the book has been updated recently and the user is active before requesting.