Ambient Horror Music Archive

I was reading a topic by @ihateurnamelol where they asked for quality music to listen to while writing horror.

This gave me an idea. I’ve been writing horror for 15 years now, and this is something I’ve done for a long time. So here’s a list of horror tracks I’ve come across. I’ll try to divide them up into sub-genres since horror is nuanced.

Before I begin, I want to give links to two freaking massive treasure troves of ambient horror tracks.

This YouTube Channel, Cryo Chamber, is a label that specializes in ambient horror, and has over 1,000 videos up. You can listen to everything they’ve produced directly through YouTube for free. So go there and start hunting.

And this tracklist is a compilation of ambient horror tracks created entirely for public use by a man named Kevin MacLeod, it has a lot of great stuff on it. (I used, and plan to use, some of his stuff in my Halo horror machinima.)

All of these will link to YouTube videos unless otherwise indicated. (i.e., if it’s not on YouTube.)

I’ll expand this when I have more time.

ISOLATION
Self Esteem Fund by Kelly Bailey (Portal OST) [One of my absolute personal favorites]
Never Forget Me, Never Forget Me by Akira Yamaoka (Silent Hill 3 OST)
Love is an Infection by Lzn02
A Warm Place by Nine Inch Nails
Burning Man from World of Goo OST
Screamer from World of Goo OST
Cog in the Machine from World of Goo OST
What Have We Done To Each Other? by Atticus Ross & NIN
In This Twilight by Nine Inch Nails
Lonely by Andreas Rönnberg (Cry of Fear OST)
The Emotional Instability of the End Credits by Lzn02 (I actually can’t find this anywhere. I think you might only get it as a bonus track if you buy the album from bandcamp.)

ACTION-HORROR
Convoy (Remix) by Charlie Clouser
CUT. by AES Dana feat. MIKTEK
Evenfall by AES Dana feat. MIKTEK
Half the Man by Methodic Doubt
(When) Danger is Your Middle Name by Trocadero (Meta Theme from RVB, so amazing)