Asking for Advice about making LGBT+ Characters

Hey I would like to get some advice on how to make a good representation of LGBT+ people. I’m new to Wattpad, currently working on a story that has LGBT+ characters, but I don’t want to mess it up with representing them with my characters.

All that I know from the LGBT+ people is that they want to be represented as normal people.

I have this planned side plots with my characters. Two trying to be normal, but have other people bother them with knowing about their personal lives. One character being too closed off to tell someone they have a hidden romantic feelings. Lastly one that had a horrible breakup with someone due to a traumatic incident in their past that lead to him having a hard time moving on.

Those are some characters that I know are part of the LGBT+ and asking for advice on the matter. I’m someone that isn’t in the community but would like to know from those that are for any guidance. So anything helps.

1 Like

one question: what do you mean by them trying to be normal?

I think it’s fair to say that some LGBTs have difficulty accepting their true identity and wish to try being straight aka normal. I used to be like that.

Which in this case, you are correct. @NatureStarStruck do not pin any sexuality as “normal”. That will be triggering. LGBTs believe there should be no label on what is normal at all unless normal equals “being yourself.”

Hi there,

This seems better suited in #story-services:special-services so I’ll go ahead and move it over there.

If you have specific questions about orientation or gender identity you can also reach out to people in this thread: Sensitivity - Orientation / Gender

Thanks for understanding,
Fray - Community Ambassador :frog: