Asking for help! How many words per chapter is recommended?

Hey there!

I’m a newbie writer here! Just gonna ask if how many words per chapter is considered “healthy” :joy:

I’m planning to revisit my story (Though, not yet done) regarding this matter.

I usually write 2K words per chapter. But at one point I’ve reached the 4K teritory.

That is why I need insights regarding word counts.

This will help me re-assess my story :joy: Assessing it in such way I can see if my chapters are too long or too short! An advance thank you for those who will reply!! :smile::smile::smile:

2k tends to be the sweet spot here. Still, it doesn’t mean you should shorten all of your chapters - you can always just split them up into parts.

3 Likes

1.5k-2.5k tends to be the average around here. That said, people generally won’t mind your chapter length as long as they’re not exceeding 4k-5k words AND the chapter length is consistent.

4 Likes

I think that even wattpad itself recommends about 2000-2500 words per chapter. If you write a 4k one, just split it into two, because 4k can discourage the readers :thinking: This is just my opinion though :grin:

3 Likes

If a chapter is a single sentence, it’s one sentence. If it’s twenty thousand words, it’s twenty thousand words. Chapters can be as long or short as you think it’s necessary—if a scene, a few scenes, or an overall theme is contained within that chapter. There is no sweet spot for every story in the world.