Asking for life advice.

Some background: I’m 25, and graduated college about 2 years ago. I got a job as a teacher right after graduation, but only did it for a year because 1. I hated it, and 2. they cut the program. I was unemployed for months and am now working as a barista. I have been actively applying for jobs and it just feels hopeless, especially after I didn’t get a second interview for my dream job today. I feel like Im getting old, have no savings and no prospects. If you’ve ever been in my shoes, give me hope?

7 Likes

I graduated during the recession. There were no jobs. If I did find one it was always “you are too qualified”. I volunteered in the field that I wanted and that lead to getting a job that I wanted.

It was hard and I felt down but I had a lot of support from family and friends. Don’t give up sometimes that no now is a yes for something better later.

8 Likes

I feel your pain. I was a social worker for years but didn’t have my degree. I was good at it and changed a lot of lives. Then I had kids and daycare was almost as much as I made so my husband and I decided I would take a few years off with the kids. While I was gone the government decided to make your degree mandatory but people currently employed would be grandfathered in and didn’t have to worry about the degree.

That was a bummer but I picked myself up and went to school for dental hygiene and you’ll never believe what happened! I started losing my vision and could no longer do my job.

I went back to school for marketing then I hated it. I’m 42 now and have no direction. I feel lost without a career but I’m a mom and I get to write. I even get to help out my 96-year-old grandpa. I still have no idea what I’m going to do but just pick myself up again. I’ll think of something but for now I’ll just enjoy my family. Things will work out, I promise.

3 Likes