Being a Slow Writer

So I’m going through “a moment” and wanted to get something off my chest, with general discussion/advice we can give to other writers who may suffer from the same problem.

TL;DR: I’m a slow writer and it gets frustrating.

I’ve been pretty inactive on Wattpad, with the occasional update of whatever one-shot I come up with (by “occasional”, I mean two updates in the last six months, which…is actually the most active I’ve been in a while, smh).

Privately, I’ve been working on the same story on-off for…well, a while now (since I joined WP, really). I have other ideas lined up, but my current baby has gone under a lot of revisions, character diaries, and I’ve plotted the entire thing from opening scene to closing scene in the epilogue. So I know what I’m doing with the story. It’s not even geared to be that long - 15/16 parts and I’m guessing it’ll be around 40-50K words, NaNo length.

I’m currently undergoing another rewrite, since my brain loves to try and perfect everything, but at this point I just feel so bad for not posting anything. Like, I don’t even have a crowd of people waiting for me - most of my followers have moved on - but it’s more so disappointment in myself for taking so long to post anything. I try to keep my principle of writing things in advance, since I’ve had bad experience in the past with “pantsing” things out.

It just gets hard some days, or tempting is the word I’m going for. I have some chapters written out that I could upload on a schedule, but I have to resist because I know myself well enough that even with a set updating schedule, it’d catch up to me and I’d fall behind - and I wouldn’t want to do that to my readers. I just want the story to go smoothly.

Yea I can relate to this, especially the last few months. I have nine novellas done. But the last few months I’ve preferred … a more slow and deliberate writing style more conducive to writing by the seat of the pants.

1 Like