Calling All People with ADHD!

Hey guys! So, I’m doing a rewrite of one of my stories and my main character has ADHD. I don’t have it myself but I know people who do and I’ve been doing some of my own research. I want to make sure I write it respectfully and accurately, so I’d like to hear some of your personal experiences with ADHD if you’d like to share. What are some common misconceptions about it? What do you think people miss when writing characters with ADHD? Anything you’d like to see more of in terms of representation? What are some struggles that are often overlooked? I appreciate the help!

2 Likes

Hi there,

This seems better suited in #story-services:special-services so I’ll go ahead and move it over there.

Thanks for understanding,
Fray - Community Ambassador :frog:

I have ADHD, and I had no idea until I was 21 and in college haha. I’m certainly no expert on the issue, but I have some real-life experience.

I’m not hyperactive and ultra-energetic all the time, in fact I get burnt out a lot because of the energy it takes to focus on certain things. I hyperfixate on certain hobbies/subjects/thoughts, and I just kinda forget the rest of the world sometimes. My memory is super spotty. Basically, I either feel several steps ahead or several steps behind the rest of the world.

Idk if that helps at all haha, but if you have any specific questions, I could maybe give you answers until more qualified people show up!

3 Likes

Hey, I’m glad that you’re doing the work of research and finding personal experiences. It’s so great that you’re taking a thoughtful approach to topics such as these.

I think some personal struggles is that (and this may be for others as well, not just for people with ADHD) is that I can’t blame everything on my ADHD. I think sometimes I make excuses to myself, like, oh, that’s just because I have ADHD. But it’s hard to say what is because of the condition or just that I need to try harder.

That’s one thing that I’ve noticed.