Calling out all Fantasy Writers/Reader ! Where do I place my book KEY?

:thinking: :thinking:

KEY - a thing that provides a means of gaining access to or understanding something.

Calling out all Fantasy Writers/Readers! Where do I place my book KEY? :sweat:

Usually, I would just bring my self to google and find my answer from there. But no. Alas, I can not find my answer. :exploding_head: SO… I turn to my community for HELP.

As a fantasy writer, I have many Fantasy (made-up) words throughout my text. Placing a definition right next to the word feels wrong and every time I see writer do the same, I find my self snapping back into reality and the illusion of the story’s realism is broken.

Currently, I personally have my KEY placed at the end of my books. Logically this seems like the correct answer but this poses a conundrum for me. As a Wattpad reader, I never think “Hey, before I start this new Wattpad book let me check the back for a KEY first.” Nope. I dive right in. Then I find myself lost if an Author hasn’t over-explained said fantasy-word or thrown in the definition right next to it. And now I’m mad cause I don’t know what the made-up word means! I really like the concept of the author commenting on the word with the definition but that just doesn’t feel right. :woman_shrugging:

SO…
For Wattpaders,
Where would you like to see a Story Key?
And
Where are the proper placements for definitions and/or Story Keys?

What about words in other languages where would you put the translations?

I put my key in the beginning before the first chapter. That way the reader at least knows it exists and can come back to it when they see the name/word.