can anyone explain trad and self publishing for newbie writers?

I’ve heard online outside of Wattpad that authors who choose trad get a small percentage out of each book. Is this true or false? I want to do trad, but if this information has some truth to this then what’s going to happen with me as a writer?

Yes. One likes to give the false impression you’ll be a multi-millionaire with your published books right out of the gate and the other is a dark horse pendulum of obscurity, misery, desolation, and frustration.

Royalties with trad publishers are a lot smaller compared to those who self-publish. But the truth is, you make far less being traditionally published for each year that you are contracted with them.

Self-publishing offers more but it’s very hard to break out with as an indie author and get going because you have to do this gig all on your own.

Yeah.

Hey

You can ask @MichaelJSullivan here.
I'm an established full-time author - willing to answer questions if you have them

I hope he is able to help you

Ok thanks.

Please be careful who you listen to, we all know someone who has zero experience has fed you false and misleading information about trad publishing. With that out of the way, yes compared to self publishing, trad royalties are lower. But it’s not a simple comparison of royalty rates and there are many other factors you need to look at when deciding which path is better for your book.

With trad you receive a smaller percentage over a much larger volume compared to a larger percentage of a very small volume.

For example if I price my self published book at $6.99 that will earn about $4.90 per sale (less delivery fee that Amazon deducts, but I’m ignoring that for the purposes of this example). Now if that book only ever sells 10 copies, the maximum I will make is less than $50.