*Closed for now* Ask a Med Student!

Hi guys! I’m currently a 4th year medical student and I actually have a bit of free time in my schedule right now. So I wanted to make this thread as a place for you to ask medical/doctor questions that you might have for your story! This includes what medical school looks like as a student, how things might work if you have a character in the hospital or giving birth, or even medications and diagnoses.

Of course, disclaimer: I’m a student, which means I only know so much. And, of course, even if I were a doctor, if you actually have a medical issue, you should get that checked out in person. This thread isn’t supposed to be to get free medical advice; it’s to help with your writing! And finally, even though I may know some medical things, it doesn’t mean I know what the experience of having that illness is like. So, for example, I can tell you how a doctor might go about diagnosing/treating someone with ADHD, but I can’t really tell you what it’s like to have ADHD!

Hi,
I was wondering if you had to pass an entry exam before beginning your studies? If so how did you prepare for it?

@zahnarzt

Hi! So I’m a medical student in the United States, and most of the time, you do have to take an exam to be accepted into medical school (there are a few exceptions to this, but it’s pretty rare).

The exam is called the “MCAT” (the Medical College Admissions Test). When I took the exam, there was a biology/organic chemistry section, a chemistry/physics section, and a reading section. Since I’ve taken the exam, they have also added a “Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior” section.