Comment section pet peeves?

writing

If you’re a writer, what sort of comments annoy you? How do you reply?

If you’re not a writer, what kind of comments annoy you when you read the comment sections?

idk

Lmao, it’s alright.

yeah sorry, I guess overly harsh comments

I love comments so much! For the most part, I’ll take pretty much anything, and I try to reply to every user who comments, even if I can’t get to every one of their comments. That said, I will say that I’m perplexed by the comments like, “OMG I read it as ____”, and then they let me know whatever word they accidentally misread. It probably seems funny to the reader in the moment, but I have no idea how to reply to those, especially when it’s happened more than you would think.

I think the only comments that REALLY annoy me every time are when a writer advertises their work in the comments section of one of my chapters. Not. Cool.

I am a writer, but I don’t mind any comments unless they’re vulgar or just straight up attacking me, not that I’ve ever had any of those. As a reader, what I find irritating personally is when an author asks for critiques and doesn’t bother responding to any of them or fixing anything that the audience pointed out. Why ask for something you are not planning on using in any way?

@SammyWilkonsin Absolutely true!
@smaoineamh Lmao, I usually reply with a laughing face emoji because I don’t either. And the advertising is so annoying, especially when the spam every chapter. A lot of the time, I end up muting the user because they won’t stop even after I ask them to.
@Synonym_Rolls I know some writers edit offline before they post the edited versions so hopefully, that’s what they’re doing because it would be terrible to not take advice after someone took the time out of their day to give you some.