Dealing with Reader Expectations

Today was the first time I realized what posting on Wattpad means for me and my writing process. I’ve been writing for fifteen years, but I’ve never posted any of my stories before. These last few days, every now and then I’ve been slightly regretting putting my stuff online. This has everything to do with the fact that I’m halfway writing part 4 of 5 of my book, and the anxiety that comes with the idea the ‘twist’ (for lack of a better word) and the ending are just around the corner, and what if the readers won’t like it ? What if it’s stupid? What if I can’t pull it off ? I just don’t want to disappoint those lovely readers who’ve been supporting me from the beginning.

I like putting my characters through some hardship. I’ve done it countless of times before, when no one was reading my stuff, and had no problems with it. Because I know where the story is going – my readers don’t have any reassurances of the sort. I’m having a hard time convincing myself to not throw out my carefully constructed plot and just write a happy ending right now, even though it wouldn’t do the story justice.

Also, sometime earlier this evening, a friend of mine told me she ships two of my characters who I absolutely didn’t intend for to be shipped. I know that’s something out of my hands, but still, I’m completely flabbergasted. How did this happen? It’s not bad, obviously, but it made me wonder if I unintentionally sent out signals I didn’t mean to send out, and if there are more people who ship this (in my eyes) strange combination of characters.

Obviously, you can’t please all your readers. And they might hate your ending, or the journey towards it. Still, this realization that my readers have expectations is giving me anxiety, and the anxiety is giving me writers block.

Any people on here who recognize my struggles? How do you guys deal with reader expectations?

3 Likes

I’d say there are a few things to consider when ending a story.