[Discussion on description] Do's and don'ts - Personal feedback

Why hello there fellow wielders of the creativity pen (or usually keyboard).

So, I’m an aspiring writer, I plan to go ‘pro’ in the future, and I’ve been studying the wondrous world of creative writing (theory and all) for about five years now.

I have a small group of beta readers (mainly acquaintances who have some connection to the literary world, or are simply avid readers), and the feedback I usually get from them sounds like this:

Dialogue is delicious, the narrative aspect is on point, yet the descriptions are toooooo loooooong!

Now, I’ve toned this down in the past few months, and I somewhat understood the mechanics behind description, but still, I feel lost when it comes to dosing my description. I can interlace dialgoue, narrative, and description pretty well, but when description pops up, apparently I get lost in useless details, and this is because I consider them useful.

I just want to hear your opinions on description as well, regarding the dosing, the length, the amount of details, what should be done and what not…

All that jazz.

Hope to hear from you, and may the gods of immagination flood your mind with the essence of creativity!

Love, live
A Cyberpunk/SF/Fantasy
Culture.
Viktor Rain

First: feedback is always “just an opinion”, which means you should take it serious but sometimes you don’t change your work because one beta-reader thinks negative about it. Long descriptions can have an important function, for instance in fantasy (like Lord of the Rings) and some SF stories it’s a necessity and readers love the genre for it.

There are no rules about how long a description should be, what should be in it and what not or how it should be done. There are some tips, though.