Do you only read stories that are marked complete?

• Yes
  • No

0 voters

I’m really curious about this. I’ve noticed the vast majority of people avoid stories that aren’t completed, and I understand why. I’ve got a story I’ve been posting for a few months now, and it is complete but not all posted yet. I’m debating on whether to just post the entire thing at once if it will bring in more readers, but I’d like to do some research first.

Edit: I wonder how many non-writers get on the community page, and if that also will affect these results.

The only time I avoid stories that aren’t complete is when it says Last Updated June 22nd when it’s like November 3rd.

Pretty much, if it has been recently updated, I keep an eye on it, if it seems to be updated regularly, I read.

12 Likes

The same goes for me. I won’t read ongoing if the last update is over a month ago, but if it’s updated regularly I’ll read it if it’s interesting :relaxed:

5 Likes

What others said. I rarely read completely works, I just mainly make sure they update regularly. I can’t wait so long for updates that I have to reread the book to understand the new chapter. I should be able to remember what happened the last chapter when they update…

3 Likes

Long term, it’s probably better to just keep on a regular uploading schedule (as opposed to posting it all straight up). As far as I’m aware, books that have new uploads are favoured by the algorithm and are more likely to be promoted.

4 Likes

I rarely read in progress stories since so many die, but I have done so occasionally.

On a side note, I have noticed that when I mark a book as complete that its reads really jump. Probably from those who don’t want to read an in-progress story in case it never gets completed.

6 Likes

Basically what the other users said.

I’ll throw in that some Wattpadders add books to “Uncompleted, will read when finished” reading lists or something along those lines.

4 Likes