Does anyone else have trouble writing during a semester?

Hello, I’m a college junior right now and I have an awful habit of not writing at all during the semester. I know part of this is because I’m busy with projects and what not. There’s definitely times when I could have sat down and write but just didn’t. Does this happen to anyone else? If so, do you have any tips for overcoming it?

I took this semester off to do a co-op and I found myself writing a ton after work, so I know my problem is specific to student life.

As a university student, I completely understand what you’re going through. Writing is really difficult for me as well during the semesters. This is why I try to write on the weekends when I have more free time. It doesn’t always work but I feel like it’s better than nothing. I also always write down ideas that come to me even if it’s during a class. I don’t want to lose anything that will help me with my writing. Hope this helps!

1 Like

I like your ideas, especially writing down anything that comes to mind. Weekends are usually crammed for me but I think I’m going to try scheduling a specific time in my calendar to write next semester (maybe that’ll work till midterms hit :nauseated_face:).

I used to have that same problem during my first two years at college. However, now that I’ve found my way back to Wattpad, I feel really motivated to write, so I just plan when I’m going to write. I think it’s much harder to be consistent if you don’t schedule your writing into your weekly routine. Set yourself a goal of a minimal amount of words that you want to write per week, and strive to reach that goal. It should help. :blush:

1 Like

I think I’m going to try that, thanks for your insight :smile:

1 Like

You’re welcome! :smile:

It was hard to find time back in college, especially because I worked part time. When I did have time, my brain was often fried, and I just wanted to watch something or sleep.