Editors and Agents -- experiences and stuff

So I’ve pulled on my big girl pants and have decided I want to be just like everyone else and get their book published :raised_hands:t2::tada: I’m hoping self publication is a last choice; I don’t have the money for it. So I’m hoping to get my hopes and dreams stomped on and attempt to get traditionally published.

I don’t really know how to go about finding an editor other than a quick Google search. I don’t really have any idea about prices, reliability, the procedure, the next step, the works.

On the other hand, agents. Would I need to get one to get traditionally published? I dunno what to do about that aspect of things.

Soooo, yeah. Cool famous writing peeps, help a noob out :ok_hand:t2:

2 Likes

I’m no expert but the writers market almanac is a great place to look for editors. Here’s a website that my old teacher mentioned a couple of weeks ago. It might be helpful.

https://www.newpages.com

Also something like the writers market (current year) is good because it takes the guesswork out of figuring out the market. Let’s say someone is interested in an editor/agent based on his /her credentials. The market book says he doesn’t accept fantasy or sci fi and that’s what the author writes. You know to avoid submission to that person because they’re not worth sending to. It’ll be an automatic reject.

Don’t get roped into paying services for agents or editors. Those people are not really in the author’s best interest and why would you pay for someone to read your work and possibly reject it? It’s too much of a gamble. Most self respecting agents will read your work for free.

1 Like

Not sure I’m famous, in fact I’m pretty sure I’m not but there you go.

In order to get trad pubbed you need to have

• a unique story that fits the current market requirements
  • it needs to be polished to the n’th degree
  • clear synopsis, perfect query letter (well, as perfect as you can make it)