Fan Fiction Book club?

I’m seeing book clubs for everything, but not one for fan fiction. Or…it’s specific.

So here’s the idea.

Have a book club, people select what they know or open fan fiction if you like that. Then go from there. The only catch I’d love to do is tagging someone who needs some love for their book too to get more people involved.

Anyone else like this idea?

I actually really like this idea. There’s a lot of fanfiction authors out there who try hard and either aren’t appreciated or are outright vilified for association. This is a very good idea you’ve had. Plus the method of getting people’s books around the club works very well too.

(I’m sorry, i don’t know many fanfiction authors myself, and even if i did, i’ll probably forget the username. :joy:

It’s true there is a lot of stigma around us. I had a well meaning friend on here say I was a good writer despite it being a fan fiction. I knew she meant well, it still annoyed me.

I search for those in my fandom that I think are great and try to become friends. It doesn’t always work but it’d be nice to reach out to others.

Certainly would be nice to have a book club just to ourselves, fanfiction authors only. If only that author hadn’t said the final line, damn it, i hate when people mention that, because it shows a shallow predisposed idea that all fanfics are bad. If she had kept her opinion on that to herself, it would’ve been a compliment

Yes, it seems that’s a good way to get your stories out and meet new friends. Hopefully others like the idea and have ideas. I have no idea how a book club works, but it seems like fun!

She meant well and I did ask her mostly to see if my pace was good. Took a day to recover though. XD

I think it’s a really good idea!

Good you took the time and didn’t try to force yourself to work in a state, it never ends well.