Fanfiction Writers

writing
discussion
fandom

Hey where are all my fanfiction writers at??

I’d love to hear about anything you have to say, from your experience with writing on Wattpad to sharing tips on how to accurately and realistically maintain the original character when writing your own story… because honestly I really struggle with that.

I guess they’re all on tumblr huh?

Fanfic writer here :slight_smile: And completely Tumblr free for 16 years, lol

I’ve only been here a good few months, but how’re you today/tonight?

I’m a fanfiction writer.

Fanfic writer here. Now the trend here is Open FF aka fanfics that need no fandom knowledge to read. :wink:

Do you mean OC or canon character? Maintaining characterization sounds more like keeping in character to me.

Hi! Yeah I don’t use tumblr either. I’m good thanks, how’s wattpad been for you? Also what fandoms do you write?

Canon characters. I can never write them so that they sound in character, if you know what I mean?

Tumblr’s full of nonsense anyways. Wattpad’s been treating me well enough, plenty of advertising services and a UI that’s simple to manage alongside the ability to create threads for yourself in the built-in social network. What’s not to love?

I write Undertale fanfictions, i haven’t really had time for any others since they never really captivated my interest and fanfiction based on a real person just never hit the mark

Hmm, that’s actually a tough thing sometimes. Usually, I’d suggest rewatching/rereading/replaying several the source material to further understand canon characters. Gather as much as you can from the source material (e.g. source material has anime/manga/game/novel adaptations; delve into as many versions as possible). Or you can also wade through the fanfics for your fandom and see how they portray canon characters. Drop the ones that seem to stray from the original, closely observe the ones that stay really close to the original.