Feedback on my blurb

Hi, this is my first time writing and I was wondering if someone could take a look at my blurb, please?? This is my third time writing it but I just can’t tell if it’s good enough.

Blurb:

"His soul is God-breathed
His mind is sacred
So how could he love me
Now I am tainted"

Nevaeh Ripley is the fruit of mental illness, born into a family divided. Crushed beneath the weight of this, the only way she can alleviate the pressure is with her pen. For years she bore the pain in silence, fighting this imperceptible opponent alone. No one ever stood in her corner.

That is, until she meets Cain.

I feel like it’s not quite right, but i don’t know how to fix. I’d appreciate any ideas! :smiley:

I’d also be willing to help anyone else with theirs.

I honestly don’t feel like I know much about the character’s or their story from this.

I’d like to know who the MC is, what her life is like at the start of the book, and how the big event of the book changes her life.

While the blurb sounds nice, I don’t feel like I could connect enough as a reader to want to click that ‘read’ button.

1 Like

Thank you for your feedback, it means a lot <3 Okay, so based on your advice I’ve tried to give a little more detail about her life:

"His soul is God-breathed
His mind is sacred
So how can he love me
Now that I am tainted"

Creative Writing
Noun: Writing that expresses thoughts and idea in an imaginative way

For Nevaeh Ripley, this is the only way she can survive. Having grown up with a schizophrenic mother and a father who worked entirely too hard, she learned a long time ago how to channel her emotions into her writing and lock them away where they can’t be exploited. Years of bottling up her pain have taught her that the only person she can truly rely on is herself – everyone and everything else is only temporary.

The presence of this mysterious stranger, who wears a mask harder than her own shakes the very foundations of the life she had grown accustomed to.