Feeling Like a Bad Writer

Does anyone else feel like a bad writer? Cause, I do.

I used to feel so passionate about writing a few months ago but, now, I can barely write a sentence much less a paragraph. I feel as though everything I put out isn’t good anymore. As much as I hate to say this, I’ve even been thinking of giving up on writing - or at least taking a break from it.

Any thoughts?

I take breaks once in a while. I do not get the external validation I crave (being published or achieving popularity), so it gets hard to maintain the internal one indefinitely. So, yup, a break is a good idea.

7 Likes

I’m not good at writing also

3 Likes

I took a two year break after feeling like this. When I decided that I wanted to write again, my passion returned in full force.

5 Likes

I feel frustrated at myself more than anything because I want to write but I just don’t have time because of the heaps of work that have to take top priority position in my life. There’s also my internal fiasco of me writing 7 chapters and then having a complete brain malfunction and being unable to even form an idea that’s remotely good or beneficial to the plot (’’’:

3 Likes

You got burned out. It happens a lot. Maybe it’s time to step back and take a little break.

4 Likes

For me, it’s always come when I realize there are things I don’t like about my writing. After realizing what they are. I change them. It helps a lot.

2 Likes

Take a break.

Are you a student? Because it’s that time of year when every student’s brain is too boiled to focus.

So take a break. Dont throw out all your writing. Leave quick notes about what you had wanted to aim for in the future (plot wise). And then just walk away for a while.

3 Likes

Speaking of feeling like a bad writer, I’ve gotten some critique work done for a blurb and I rewrote it. I’m wondering how it sounds.