Free In Depth First Chapter Analysis, All Genres (Analyses available within 24 hours guaranteed)

feedback-offered
critiques

Hello everyone,

I’ve been writing and reading friends’ stories informally for some time but I figured now would be a good time for me to expand my writing social circle. As such, I am offering to read the first chapter (no 20,000 word “chapters” please) of any story offered to me. There’s no application, no screener questions, I will read and give detailed feedback of any first chapter offered. No payment or favor of any kind is required, this service is free with no strings, literal or figurative, attached.

So why am I making such an open offer? Because I am as much an enthusiastic story reader as I am an author, and to show appreciation for talented authors, every week on Monday at 8 pm Eastern Time Zone, I will be sharing the story I was most impressed by the previous week both here on this thread and on my profile page for my followers to see. Of course, follows or reads of my work would be well appreciated but I think of those more as donations than necessary payment.

To ensure all writers who request my services get consistent quality feedback, I have standardized my critiques into the following three discrete categories which I’ll rate on a scale from 1-5, with 5 being a perfect score. As well, there will be a detailed explanation for why I gave it the rating I did.

1. Is the main character a person or a prop?
  2. Is information conveyed through exposition or narrative?
  3. Does the plot as set up make sense and did I want to know what happened next?

Follow up reading of 2nd chapters and beyond will depend on whether I like the story or not so don’t offer me a chapter if you aren’t prepared for blunt feedback.