Got any questions for an editor?

I’m a professional fiction editor with some free time on her hands. If anyone has any questions they’d like to ask an editor, comment below!

I guess you should specify what type of editor.

I got one. What do you think of Grammar Girl?

In addition to the type(s) of editing that you do I would also like to ask this question: what are the editing types most if not all writers should be doing at a minimum to achieve a polished, professionally edited book?

I’m jumping into a thread that isn’t mine.Sorry, @AmeliaWiensEditing! I’m reacting to your post, Jonas, but I’m likely going in a direction you didn’t intend. That’s okay. If you don’t need to hear this, there are others who do.

So…

There is no amount of editing that will “fix” a book that is fundamentally flawed or poorly written. Editors are not magicians. They can’t take the average first novel and make it something that traditional publishing would pick up or people would want to pay to read.

Say you have a continuum from 1 to 10. A “1” is a manuscript written by someone who is basically illiterate. A “10” is traditionally published book that could win awards. Every individual manuscript falls somewhere between 1 and 10. To be picked up by an agent and sold to a traditional publisher, a manuscript would need to be a 9 (at least).

If a manuscript starts at, say 1-5, professional editing MIGHT be able to move it 2 places on the scale. Whether it can depends on the type of editing, the quality of the editor, AND the skill of the writer when implementing those edits. What is CANNOT do is bump it to a 9 or 10. Again: professional editing is not a magic wand.

If a manuscript starts at a 6 or 7, pro editing can bump it maybe 1 place. If it starts at an 8 or 8.5, it MIGHT be able to get it to the point where it would be picked up by an agent or publisher.