Help for my first ever piece of satire?

Am I even doing this right?:

I’m no satire pro, but I like it. :slight_smile:
Not over-done, too cheesy, or it’s not trying too hard to be funny.

1 Like

Thanks!

1 Like

It’s really sweet! Concise and with a fun twist. I would just fix some typos/syntax stuff and clarify Mrs. Trengali’s role. In this case, since you’re in the POV of a reporter, you’d use her full name, right? So you could say “Jan Trengali, teacher of the class,” or something like that…

Sources: wrote for a comedy newspaper.

1 Like

Oops haha

Oh okay that makes sense. I guess I wasn’t fully in character I was more writing from my own pov (she’s my actual Journalism teacher lol)

Thanks!!

1 Like

bump (just a few more sets of eyes please :slight_smile: )

Por favor?

It’s okay, but the idea is so strong that it could be better.

Good satire needs details. Your text, like the line “They praised modern day politics, speaking of how…”, is too general. You have to name horse and jockey. That includes a “today” example and that might be outdated (and not funny any more) tomorrow, but that’s the price you’ll have to pay. Example:

“Homework for tomorrow: write a 400-words article how building a wall on the Mexican border can make America great again.”, professor Jones wrote on the blackboard. Suddenly, the floor opened. Thomas Jefferson, George Washington and Benjamin Franklin stepped into the classroom.
“What’s that about America great AGAIN? Did anyone shrink it after we left?”, Washington asked.
“Did you sell California back to the Indians?”, Franklin wanted to know.
“We call them Native Americans now.”, Mr Jones replied.
Jefferson raised an eyebrow: “Native Americans? Aren’t the whites and the blacks and the Latinos allowed to be born here any more?”
“We don’t call the blacks black either. They are Afro Americans…”
Franklin shook his head: “And the whites are called German Americans or Irish Americans?”