HELP ME!!

It may look like simple questions to many,but as a writer I am finding it hard to choose so I will ask you as a reader AND a writer what’s your preference and WHY?

1. first person pov V/S third person pov

2. Passive voice / active voice

3. stories written in -

Past tense or present tense

1. too less description Vs too much description

2. show v/s tell

I mean,maybe it’s gonna take a while for you to write it,but answer it as honestly as you can,so you can know about your writing and reading preference,as well as help me in the process too! Thank you for reading this.

As a writer, I write in both the first person and the third person POV, depending on the characters story.

My first book, is from the first POV, and I got to chapter 4 when somebody DMed asking what would it be like if you did it from the LI’s POV, so I started his version from the first POV, and now I’m doing both MCs on two book series, based on the same journey, after talking to other authors who did the same thing.

One from the female MC and one for the male MC

My second book series (not part of them) is two POV in one book series from the first POV, two MC, each telling you how they met and fell in love in the one book. As I wanted to see how a 2 POV book would look over a series

I use past and present tense on them all

1 Like

So, I would tell you to do whatever you want, but I know that isn’t helpful so here goes nothing…

First Person Third Person
More familiar feel More distant feel
Better for younger audiences Better for older audiences
Easier to write Harder to write
YA, Romance, NA etc. Adult, Fantasy, Memoirs etc.

Passive Voice Active Voice
Laggy Fast
Subtle, weak Strong, clear
Might shift the focus Stagnant focus, sounds like a cookbook
Descriptive writing Action scenes

Past Tense Present Tense
Might feel distant Hooking
Better for older audiences Better for younger audiences
Slightly hard to follow Easy to follow