How can I gain readers when I'm just new to writing??

SOOO I’ve been a reader here in Wattpad for so many years, and I decided to create my story. How can you attract people to read your book because I want to engage with the people regarding their criticism so that I can improve more in my writing.

Actually, I’ve written a book before but I stopped because I had a mental block and I can’t continue writing it anymore. Then, I opened my discontinues work and tried to fix it because I was in HS when I written it and it’s so cringey. I also want more feedbacks and to gain different perspective from the readers if there is something that’s missing from the story.

Thank youu!!

Doing read for reads might help you a lot with that . Youll get reads and feedback that way.

furthermore just be active on the forum. that’ll help attract readers too.

And be patient, reads take time.

if you need help or guidance, don’t hesitate to reach out, you can always pm me on wp

4 Likes

I’m just going to copy and paste what I said to others who asked the same thing. Here it goes:

It depends on some factors:

• first of all, know that gaining readers/followers will take time depending on what you post on here. Some people gain 100 followers/reads in their first month/week and sometimes people gain 100 in a year.
  • advertising on SYS threads (but don’t just rely on this)
  • sharing your story with people asking for recommendations in the forums. This helped me A LOT because I found a lot of people from the forums reading my most recent book and they enjoyed it which was super great. :slight_smile: Some people even said they were browsing through these forums, found interest in my book, and ended up reading it. :smiley:
  • using your book/characters in character/story games throughout the forums
  • Participating in feedback threads: Not only does this help improve your writing, but you can always find people who are interested in following you/reading more of your work.