How do I get rid of negative thoughts and feelings?

I’m really upset, mad, and disappointed right now, and I think I might explode. See–I bottled my feelings inside of me or suppressed them. Every once in a while it spills out, but by that point I don’t care about it. I’m tired of everything.

My mom yells at me for saying ‘No’ to autistic niece, I love her to death. But, I have a life too, and I rarely say the word ‘No’ to any one of my siblings. Then she compared me one of my sisters’ and talked about isolation. That got me upset even more.

Anyways… How should I get rid of these negative feelings?

Hiya!

I’m sorry you’re feeling down. I have been processing depression my whole life, and there are a few ways I do so. I’m by no means an expert, but maybe what works for me might help you.

• Journaling is a quick and direct way of processing. If you’re worried about security there are a lot of free diary apps with lock features. I like LunaDiary and Writeaday most. You can let it all out and not have to look at it again if you don’t want to.

• Meditation is another great one. It’s hard to get the hang of, but its proven to be very effective. Insight Timer has the largest free mediation database and you can find what style works for you. Mine is guided meditations.

• If possible, try talking with her about how she made you feel. I understand this isn’t an option for everyone, but if it is for you, stick to “I feel” statements like “i felt really hurt by what you said” instead of “you really hurt my feelings” because people don’t truly know how their actions affect others and no one likes being directly accused.

Of course, writing is also a hugely beneficial resource.

I hope this helps!

3 Likes

As I can read you, I understand why you feel these negative feeling. I think @Weillyn described some great ways to get through. If you can’t try talking with your mom, do you have another person near you with whom you could share what you live, what you feel?

1 Like