How do I know what POV to use?

This may seem like a realllly obvious answer to some of you, but for me, it’s something I’m struggling with a lot lately.

I finished a book about two months ago that was written in 3rd pov and it was the first time I ever used the POV. To be completely honest, before using that POV for that book, I hated it. I don’t even like reading 3rd pov. But as I was exploring the POV I realized I actually really love it. I’m a detailed orientated writer and 3rd POV gives me a lot of freedom/opportunities to put in a lot of details that I couldn’t find writing in 1st POV.

Now, 2 months later, I am finally branching off to other projects. But the problem is I’ve fallen in love with 3rd pov. I find myself always reverting back to it! I’m even considering rewriting the first seven chapters of the book I’m currently working on to be in 3rd pov… is this bad?

I really really really want to write this book in 3rd pov lol. Someone talk me out of it.

(Though it wouldn’t be that hard if I do decide to use 3rd pov since I have to rewrite the first seven chapters anyway…)

Do authors usually tend to write in one POV and stick with it across the board for all of their different projects? Do you think readers enjoy 1st or 3rd POV more? I’m giving myself a headache…

Use the POV that works for your story. If that’s 3rd, go for it. Personally I dislike 1st but I’ve had some stories demand to be told that way. So if you want to write in 3rd, no reason not to.

1 Like

You don’t have to write in the same POV for every book. Personally, I write 3rd person preferentially, but when I want a strong entertaining voice with lots of emotional content, I write 1st person. So, 4 of my novels are all 3rd person, but my novellas and my latest novel are in the first person.

If you feel you would write this specific book better in the 3rd, write in the third! If you at any moment want to go back to the first… go! Both are wonderful.

4 Likes