How do you come up with ideas?

Hello there! Pretty basic question, I know, but I’m stuck and desperate, so here it goes.

So being a busy uni student, I rarely have time to actually sit down and write anything more than a few paragraphs. Small ideas came to mind from time to time but I dismissed them due to studying being a priority.

However, recently my schedule had been a bit less intense and so yay, finally, I had both the time and the motivation to write seriously. I sat down, opened a word document and…nothing. I stared at the blank white screen for nearly an hour (no joke ;-;), I tried some freestyle, writing down anything that came to mind just to get the creativity going, but nope, that did nothing to help me come up with an actual story idea I wanted to write.

Is this what they call writer’s block? Or is it because I’ve mainly done poetry before and prose is just a harder form of writing that I’m not used to yet?
So I wanted to know, how do you generally come up with ideas for stories/novels/characters? How do you get inspired, do you have a special routine or anything?

Please, share your methods with me, I’m genuinely curious ^-^

Well, for me, I just watch TV shows, movies, play games, read books. And if I like something, I’d just point to it and say ‘I want to do something like that but this way instead’. That’s more-or-less how I think when it comes to these things.

What are three of your most favourite stories? Be it TV show, movie, game, book, whatever…

1 Like

I like to use my interests to help me find inspiration. For you, that might be incorporating your study material into a novel.

1 Like

I get inspired through emotional movies, songs, sometimes drawing and other books.

And I like to create a world in my head, so I can imagine my characters and that helps me write more.

3 Likes

By simply day dreaming.