How do you graphic?

So, I’ve got a dilemma.

I want a new book cover for my book.

But I don’t know what I want on it.

As an amateur cover designer myself, I know just how much designers hate half-assed forms, so I haven’t requested.

I can’t make the cover myself because I don’t know what to put on it.

So… any ideas on what I should do?

Well, if you’re struggling with ideas, finding inspo and good pictures is always useful.
Well, I also work with few ideas, but please don’t tell other designers!

But like the cover should fit the novel.

I struggle with symbols.

Like my novel is so… “out there”

It’s hard.

Oh… Providing with a short summary also helps designers.

Ha. Short summary?

It’s an 80k novel.

I mean, a sort of blurb

Hm… I have a blurb.

I don’t like people covers.

I guess that’s why it’s hard.

Oh… okay…

My current cover is of a hand covered with blood. lol.

Honestly, I just put a picture, the title, a subtitle, and my name. My covers look awful, though.

as a cover maker, I understand the struggles. And it’s a hard dilemma to solve. depending on the genere you might want to consider some different things. but here are some stuff you could think about that might help

• compare it with things that exist. that can be in terms of: how it would look or feel if it was a movie. similar themes.
  • Symbols can be things that are in the book, like items or imagery. or symbols that society uses that aren’t in the book like how apples are the forbidden fruit.
  • what time period it takes place. you can use imagry or typefaces from associated with it. or try to design it to look like it’d sit in a bookshelf of that time period?
  • Aesthetics help a lot in non people based covers. and picking aesthetics that go with your story, not necessarily the genere

Most authors I believe, talk to cover designers and have many variations for their book before they pick one.

@Panoramic r.i.p.

@letterbyowl Let’s see…

• I can’t imagine my book as a movie. :joy: