How Do You Guys Go About Writing In A New Genre?

I normally write in the genre of fantasy, but recently I decided to expand my horizons and work on a Sci-Fi story. I’ve never written in this genre so I am quite out of my element, meaning that any advice you can give me would be greatly appriciated! Thank you for reading ^-^

If I want to jump into writing another genre, I usually try to read in that genre, too. It’s usually obvious when a writer is forcing their writing, so familiarizing yourself with the genre can be extremely helpful!

Best of luck! Only advice I can give is that you need more logic, since science fiction has no magic like fantasy does.

Thank you! I try to read as much as I can anyway, but I’m sure that more preparation won’t help.

I will probably need the luck tbh…
I do have an advantage with this genre as I am a student studying Computing which does give me a little more insight into how computers actually work which I’m sure will be helpful(?)

Wether it is helpful or not depends on your story idea, really. I had a sci-fi idea too recently but I may never write it. It was too big and I need to cut off some aspects of it, but Idk which ones.

READING that writing is how I start writing that writing…:lonelywriter:

I usually just dive in. I write mostly fantasy too but occasionally I get ideas that branch out. I have one that has some scifi elements, 2 contemporary romances, and one paranormal. The contemporary romances are the ones that really trip me up since I, as a person, wouldn’t know romance if it hit me on the nose and said “hi, I’m a romantic gesutre.” I also don’t like reading straight up romance so for me just writing it and hoping I don’t screw it up too much is the best idea.

The way I see it is the first draft can be your playground. If you screw something up, research it for the next draft and work to fix it in any future drafts.