How Do You Know You're Doing Well?

Hello, Wattpadders! I’m new to WP and joined a couple weeks ago. I was wondering for us newbies, how do you know you’re doing well on here? How many reads and votes would you consider good after, say, a week of posting a story? I’ve done a lot of the recommendations others have shared to be successful here, so I’m hoping it’ll take off. But I know it takes quite a while! I’m also working on reading others and getting out there.

13 Likes

Base it on making genuine friendships here on Wattpad. It is very hard to get your book seen but making friends can help you get there.

I had the same question when I hit 130k reads. I learned there are very few people that hit 1k reads so if you are above that, I would say you are doing quite well. For votes I like to see 100 per 1k reads.

As far as follows that depends on how many people you follow and how many are genuine readers. A high number of follows makes your profile more attractive to readers and there should be a gap between your followers and how many people you follow. I have almost 1k followers and I follow around 120. Followers are great because they help your work to be seen.

16 Likes

Thanks Grace. :slight_smile: I appreciate it. I can’t imagine having 1K reads, let alone 130K! WTG. That’s impressive. How long did that take you? I just put up my first few chapters three days ago. I have 91 reads and 26 votes. Not sure if that’s good, but I’m trying to focus on the positive. And I’ve already “met” a few awesome writers. I like posting on these forums as well.

8 Likes

I would say it took me from November or so until April. I think a person with clout somehow found my story because I did no promoting. My oldest book was uploaded around like October, maybe? I can’t remember but my experience was unusual. I did everything completely the opposite of what they say to do.