How does one poetry?

Hello there! Yesterday, I accidentally stumbled into being a poet. I lengthened a cryptic post of mine to make it look fancy, and someone mistook it for deep and amazing poetry. Since then, I’ve written three more poems.

Now, I have no experience with this. Personally, I’ve always disliked poetry, as I like full sentences and getting straight to the point, so this is really odd. How long are poems supposed to be? How often are you supposed to write them? Should they be in a certain format?

Until now, I have “free-versed” them until roughly the same size. Yesterday I wrote two poems, today three. I plan on posting one a day in my thread, just for fun as well as to see where it goes. If I reach 50 poems, I may just make an anthology and put it on Wattpad.

3 Likes

Do as you like
Do as you must
Do as you can
Do what you do
Do be do be
Do

6 Likes

I really should’ve expected this from the Poetry subgenre. Thanks for the advice, though.

4 Likes

It sounded really good. :joy:

3 Likes

…yes

2 Likes

I am curious to read your cryptic post poetry.

3 Likes

No promises on its quality. Regardless. – clears throat –

A forest in which a lonely fox lives,
muttering to herself.
If you listen closely,
you can hear the trees echoing her faint words.
You can come and whisper alongside her,
or just sit back and listen to the ramblings.
Either way,
she doesn’t mind.
People come and go,
after all,
like leaves on the wind.
Like whispers in an empty room.

5 Likes

Lovely little poem

3 Likes

Are you the :fox_face:?

2 Likes

By verbing a few other things, wattpading is fun as well. And my favorite, spicing.

But that’s the great thing about poetry, other than rhyme and meter, pretty much whatever you want!

Onto poetry with you.

1 Like

Aye. My username was @JaneTheFirefox for years. It stuck with me.

3 Likes

How does one “improve” their poem?

1 Like

I have a poem based on my username too.