How much of your fantasy world have you mapped out?

Mapped out: in your head, on paper, once upon a dream…

I’m not a map expert. I get lost with GPS XD

When it comes to maps for my world, I usually either have a vague idea of neighboring countries, and/or just a semi-clear idea of what the country the story takes place in looks like and where notable things are in relation to each other. Sometimes, I only have an idea of a single city location in a vague country situation and a few towns scattered around and maybe a river somewhere. I tend to have rivers in my stories for some reason.

Sometimes I try my hand at Inkarnate and once I drew how the characters travel over ten pages of a notebook but usually the map stays in my head.

Also, I have never had an entire Narnia thought up in my head or anything close to LOTR. If it’s not in the story, why bother? :stuck_out_tongue: That’s my idea, anyway.

So what about you? How much do you have?

5 Likes
I have a slightly developed map.

This one focuses more on geographical features than cities/countries, since geography is key to making good political maps. :grin:

2 Likes

Usually my stories will start with a “What If?” idea. What if criminals were magically enforced to kill spirits? What if a story was written from the view point of a soldier in an evil empire? What if magic was granted to those who knew the “real” name of the sky?

From there I’ll start jotting up ideas of characters, names, places and get a rough idea of how the first scene would start. From there, I’ll brain storm where that scene will naturally lead too next and begin outlining. As time goes on, the story tends to unfold on itself as I write, rewrite and tweak plot and character ideas.

1 Like

That cross mountain range is intriguing if you think about politics :smirk:

1 Like

Do you ever come to a point where you think you might have to draw the map out, or no? Just stays in your head?