How much will editing cost?

How much will editing cost? Can you give me a price range? And where/ on what sites do I avail of the service?

What sort of editing? Copyediting? Developmental editing?

Copyediting and then proofreading.

It depends what kind of quality you want. If you’re looking for something generally cheap, then people tend to go to sites such as fiverr.

thanks! I’ll check it out…

1 Like

Make sure they edit a sample of your work before you sign a contract to be sure they have the skills.

1 Like

Hi! My name is Kate and I am an editor who works specifically with self-published/publishing authors. I charge based on what the author’s editing needs are. If you are interested in learning more, you can find me on Facebook (The Authors’ Space).

Happy writing!

1 Like

I’ll let your post stand, since it was related to the question, but you are kindly reminded that using Wattpad for business purposes is against the rules.
Thank you for your understanding
Lina - Community Ambassador

1 Like

As others said earlier it will really depend on the different types of editing your manuscript will need. Here’s a breakdown of what you can expect.

Professional editors can be found online to get your story ready for publishing. It’s important to remember that most editors charge in these two main ways.

1. They will charge you a flat rate based on your word count (e.g. $250 for 10,000 words or less)
  2. They will charge per word in the document (e.g. 5 cents a word)

The 2nd option may seem more alluring but if you’re writing a 100,000-word novel, the price tag will quickly add up. I highly recommend checking out [Reedsy] which provides a nice breakdown of the average editing rates per editing type.

Content Developmental Editing= $.024 (per word)

Copy Editing= $.017 (per word)

Copy editing+ Proofreading= $0.019/per word (per word)