How to describe rage.

Is it something I’m truly bad with it’s describing the feeling of rage. One of my characters he’s feeling rage, and I just can’t write it, I can’t describe it. He’s saving his girlfriend from being raped, and manages to and he is so pissed. I want People to feel it, and I just manage to tell it, not showing it.

Can someone please leave in some details or tips on describing the feeling of rage?

One of the easiest ways to convey emotions is through how the character’s body reacts.
“She tore a sliver of skin off her thumb with her teeth; blood rose up to the surface of her flesh, but she didn’t seem to notice.” (anxiety)
I would recommend brainstorming or googling how others would react in this situation, paying specific attention to their body language. Body language is so important in story telling.

4 Likes

I am an expert on rage moments his blood will boil in his veins all rational thought will cease every muscle in his body will tighten as raw animistic rage takes over also add in a roar either a before battle roar or a after battle victory roar but what really sells a rage moments is what he does to his opponent and that feeling of emotional rawness following when he questions the violent person he was in those few moments

1 Like

Is the story in first person or third. If it’s in first it would be completely realistic for the character to outright say they are enraged in their internal monologue and reexamine the scene, pointing out each additional point that pisses him off until it gets an increasing sense of anger.

If it’s in 3rd, I’d err more on the side of actions. Maybe he can’t sit still or he’s sitting too still. Maybe he has stilted dialogue or isn’t focused.

1 Like

Well part of his reaction will be whether or not the attackers are still present, and whether or not you want him to physically demonstrate his rage on the rapists…