How To Fix Pacing

When I write (fanfics or og stories) I have trouble pacing. Mostly, I feel like my stories going by too quickly and I should slow it down. But, idk how. If anyone has any tips or tricks plz tell me. Or, if you personally struggle with pacing too, feel free to share your pain!

Pacing is the bane of my existence! I think the best way to fix it is really in revisions. My first drafts are always paced too quickly. It’s not until I get some distance from the initial draft that I can go back in and layer more of what’s needed to get it right. I often find that I haven’t spent enough time showing the character’s emotions and thoughts in response to what’s happening in the scene.

4 Likes

Thank you so much for the advice. I’ll be sure to try my hand at it :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Pacing is something I’m still learning (and constantly struggle with), but I have learned a few tricks over time.

• Expand your scenes.

The one thing that can make your story go by too quick is the fact that you shorten your scenes. I’ve often seen stories where the first chapter is a few paragraphs long where the character goes to school and comes home. The writer never expands the scene of how they get to the school, what happens there, and what happens when they come home.

Expanding your scenes will make your story run on a little longer. However, this shouldn’t be confused with adding in filler scenes which is where you add dialogue pieces and random stuff just to keep the story going. Each scene should be relevant to the book and therefore, keep the plot moving forward.

• Add conflict.

Adding conflict will not only help lengthen your story but also keep it from ending too quickly. You can treat each chapter as a mini-plot: there’s an exposition, climax, and resolution, and during such, there will be conflict.