I'm an established full-time author - willing to answer questions if you have them

question

Hey, I’m a veteran of the Wattpad Industry Insider group and just learned it’s shutting down, so I’m moving what was the most popular post on that site to here. I’ve been in publishing for about a decade and have done it all (small press, self-publishing, and had 8 books released through the big-five). I’ve sold more than a million copies, have 70+ foreign translations, and been on the Amazon Top 100 best-selling fantasy authors for more than 3 years. I’ve also presented at the Writer’s Digest Annual Conference (and done several online courses for them).

Past questions have been on self-publishing, finding agents, signing contracts, marketing, income expectations, how authors are paid, and the craft of writing. But I’m open for anything, all you have to do is ask.

Publisher Scam! Beware

Hi! Guess, I’ll throw up a couple questions that I’ve been wondering about.

Given your experience, how much of a difference would you say the current industry has changed compared to how it was a decade ago? Anything major and/or minor that you’ve noticed?

When it comes to sales, has there been a higher preference in book formats that you’ve seen? Like say between physical, digital, or audiobook copies? Has one been sold more than the others? etc.

When it’s time to search for an agent, the most common advice I’ve seen so far was to apply to as many as you can due to long periods of time waiting for a response. Aside from that, do you have any tips or advice based on your experience that every writer should always keep in mind?

Also, what kind of challenges and hardships should a newly contracted author expect at the beginning of their career?