Is this a trademark issue?

So, for years now I’ve been writing a series about beings called the Eternals. Only now did I find out that Marvel apparently also has beings called the Eternals. Since this is completely by accident, as far as I can tell the two have nothing to do with each other aside from being immortal, as the name suggests.

Is this trademark infringement? I’ve tried researching it, but I can’t find a definitive answer for my specific case. I do use the name in the title of the first book, which is my main concern.

I’m not an expert, but I don’t think it’s a problem as long as you don’t copy the plot and all :smile:

2 Likes

I don’t think this will be an issue at all. You didn’t know about this when writing your story. As long as your story is different from Marvel’s ones it should be fine.

2 Likes

Hi. I’m not an expert, so this is only my personal opinion, but I think you’re good. Upon quick googling, when Marvel trademarks The Eternals they trademarked it as a “Marvel The Eternals”.
You using a name Eternals shouldn’t put you in any trouble unless you copy their plot. Or call it Marvel The Eternals.
At least that’s what I think.:woman_shrugging:

2 Likes

I did look the trademarks up, and there does seem to be one that’s just “Eternals”, but it only relates to comic books. But I don’t understand how any of this works :smiley: Honestly, I find it odd that such a relatively generic term can be trademarked in general.

Anyway, thank you for the reply. : ) @monique0912345 @feufeu15 thank you, too.

2 Likes

I don’t know anything about trademarks, but I found this article: http://www.appocalypse.co/entertainment/marvel-trademark-eternals-next-avengers-franchise/

it says: