Looks Like Another Romance Digitial First Line is being axed

From the chatter I’m hearing, Random House is dumping its Loveswept line. Nothing is confirmed yet, but it certainly looks that way.

I’m not an expert, and I don’t pretend to be one, but I am a traditionally published romance author and the way things are going, it is going to be harder and harder to get a traditional publishing contract.

If you want to get your romance book published, I’m not telling you that you’re wasting your time, but it’s going to be tough. Real tough going forward. The competition from Amazon and all the cheap books that are available there is killing romance in the traditional publishing world.

I imagine they’re going under because writers believe they can make more money going indie instead of traditional. I myself certainly believe it. What’s the advantage of a traditional contract these days when you have to do all the marketing yourself anyhow? They just take a piece of your pie without earning it, and they take a larger piece than Amazon, Kobo, etc. Is there any real advantage to a traditional publishing contract these days? I’m not trying to be flippant or anything; I’m really serious. _〆(..)

Depends on the contract (which, BTW, will suck) and the individual publisher. Some are better than others.

• Traditional is, in my opinion, good for a first book because it validates your skill. (It still provides personal validation for many people, too.)
  • Traditional still provides (usually) decent covers and multiple rounds of editing. The latter is a HUGE benefit, particularly the developmental editing. Until you’re secure in your ability to produce a well-crafted, well-paced, well-developed novel, it might be better to stay traditional.
  • Traditional still has access to some marketing channels that indie doesn’t. If your publisher is going to pursue those for your book that is a benefit. (If not, not so much.)