Magical Girls!

Have any of you watched any magical girl shows? Or read or written an original story in the magical girl genre? I’m just curious, b/c I’ve been writing mine for the past 2 years now, and it’s been a blast writing it. What magical girl stories have you read (if any)? What magical girl shows have you watched (if any) that have inspired your magical girl story?

2 Likes

I am currently working on one. I don’t know if it is magic yet but she has paranormal powers that she is unaware of.

1 Like

A protagonist who is unaware of her powers? Interesting. I can just imagine all the shenanigans that’ll cause!

1 Like

I have a character like that, though I haven’t written her story yet. She’s a dragonborn sorceress who gained her powers by touching the final page in an enchanted book that she didn’t know was enchanted. She acts like she’s brave but inside she’s a huge coward and tends to hide when things get particularly dangerous, much to the chagrin of her friends

2 Likes

Oh, the shenanigans get very weird, ha… she is completely in the dark the whole time.

That sounds interesting. The character leading a double life is always a good dramatic device.

Interesting characterization! I like amiable cowards. The face that they get scared means that there’s some room for them to grow as characters.

Definitely. Sorine may be a coward, but she definitely won’t be one forever!

I’ve had the idea for Henry Rider: Clown Hunter for more than a year, but I never really wanted to write it until I started watching Star Vs the Forces of Evil on Hulu. It started out being a silly, lighthearted adventure like that show, but eventually I changed it so it was more like Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a more comedic edge.

Sailor Moon was an obsession when I was 8 or so. I even had dolls of Sailor Mars (my favourite) and Mercury. Still have them somewhere, probably in the attic and I intent to keep them.