My Writing Tips!

writing

Hello My Co-Wattpaders! AphroditeCampSawi at your service!

I am not a professional writer which makes it fun because you can share tips with me too!

Let’s focus on my writing tips and you will be the next!

1. Edit, edit, and edit.
You and your readers won’t be happy seeing a lot of typos. Grammatical Errors are acceptable to me, but typos? No, no, no.

_Why are grammatical errors acceptable?_

Well, not everyone lives in America or other countries that spoke in English. Just like me, I am from the Philippines. I admit that my grammar is bad, but I always do my best to improve it.

_Why are typos not?_

As far as I know, we have spell checkers in our laptops and mobile phones. What is their purpose if you just ignore them.

Just one mistake on your spelling can change the whole meaning.

I like this thread, it’s a cool idea! Here are a few of my tips (also a non-professional :joy:)

1. Consider vowel sounds. Lots of sibilance (s-sounds) creates a gentle and comforting tone, while harder sounds like Ds and Bs and Ks can create a sense of violence or layer in a feeling of intensity.

2. Think about foreshadowing. Hinting at what will happen later on in a story. For example, if someone is about to die a gruesome death in the next chapter, try to incorporate language such as “blood red” or a similie like “cold as a corpse” to introduce a more sinister change in unrelated scenes.

3. Don’t just describe stuff at the start of your story. It can be hard to know how to start, but my advice is to try to create a problem that readers just HAVE to stay to figure out.