Nick's Wattys Tune-Up Thread

Though I’m sure other tune-up threads will also appear, what matters is that I got here first.

And I’m not a judge of the Wattys so there’s no conflict of interest in helping people. It’s not like I would decide which Wattys entries might move into Paid. Zero conflict in helping people.

Anyways…

Lousy with a logline? Suck at a summary? Ailing from alliteration?

You should post here for all your “OMG the wattys just became very real to me and I realized I’m not good enough, nothing will ever be good enough, please, why did this happen?” moments. (That’s right I’m a writer too I can capture the feels accurately).

As per my usual rules, I can help with specific issues you see in your story or logline/summary (but I can’t help with generic “is this good?” or “read my entire story/chapter” requests). Just plop them in and I’ll answer when I can.

saving this… summaries are hard…

3 Likes

Considers slapping down my whole book and asking you to help me fix that pile of crap

:joy:

nvm (edited)

14 Likes

“Sets down three books here.” XD

5 Likes

As in beginnings that are dreams or what would be an ideal, dream beginning if I could have anything?

3 Likes

I feel that XD

My books have a loooooong way to go before they’re close to Watty ready and with my attention being brought to Watty’s legal stuff I may refrain anyway.

1 Like

It’s a beginning that is a dream.

I relate to this on a spiritual level.

1 Like

I need to edit a few things as well. More like three book’s worth of editing.

Well a beginning of a story needs to also be a beginning of a character’s motivation to change. It’s not very often I have a dream wherein afterwards I decide to change myself. That said I basically don’t dream so I’m not a great source of knowledge on this. It’s just dark, then I’m awake. This feels like it fits within the vision people probably already have of me.