Non-native English writers needed!

Hi everyone,

I believe we all love writing, but somehow still struggle with a thing or two when it comes to writing in English. No doubt, that’s me.

I would love to hear from some of you about the challenges faced in writing and how you overcome your challenges in writing.

You could leave suggestions or recommendations for non-native, new writers.

I’m a non-native ENglish writer (Dutch)

I found myself an editor, who’s American and she reads through everything before I post and she gives comments, making me grow and learn a lot

2 Likes

A few writers recommended to get an editor too, so I’m still looking around, posting requests. I think having someone to guide is really good in terms of improving and learning.

1 Like

It is, it helped me a lot! ^.^

Just keep writing.

If you do get lucky, and someone goes over your draft for errors, look for the systematic ones you make because it is specific to your linguistic background. Identify shortcuts that allows you to avoid them or replace things you are unsure about.

There are some things that I still struggle with in English, even after over 20 years of functioning exclusively in this language.

Overall, remember that a lot of readers on Wattpad are also not native speakers, so English is a lingua Franca here. Use it as such—the function of a language is to communicate the ideas not to prevent them from flowing.

2 Likes

English is my second language too. So I kind of had problems with writing at first. A few years ago, I started reading a lot. I also joined a literary club at high school to help me out. But it’s been years now. And I feel I’m not as good at it now as I used to be.
I think language is something we get better at as long as we practice it. Reading and asking for constructive feedback from others on piece you’ve written should really help.

1 Like

Hi,