Over 35? Come sit at the adult's table.

Hey folks. I’m a 50-year-old writer writing for adults. Needless to say, I often feel old on WattPad. Heck, my college-age kids are older than 60-70% of the writers here.

So I’m just looking for other adults with grown-up responsibilities to hang with. Especially if you’re also writing for adults. Which is a different animal than writing YA fiction.

Basic Rules of Decorum.

• Treat people with respect.
  • No racism, homophobia or other such propaganda, please. Which sort of goes back to the first point.
  • No advertising books.
  • No divisive politics.
  • No evangelizing other readers to your religious position… and New Atheists, that means you too!

Just good, interesting talk about writing and reading.

PS. That “over 35” is pretty fluid. I’m just looking for a cutoff that’ll keep out the kids. And I cannot post for “adult writers.” because that would sound like I’m looking for writers of erotica, which I’m not. Since I write literary, magical realist fiction.

13 Likes
Friends. Are there persons who are at least 30 years of age?????
I don’t think I belong here- LOL
Any older users out there?? Ages 35+ writers and readers...

Hey Leo,

I’m 39 and I know how you feel man.

I got started on this Wattpad thing because a friend of mine suggested it.

I’ve run into the same problem you have. I’m older than everyone here and my writing doesn’t grab the YA crowd. I don’t know if it’s because I’m almost 40 or because all the main characters in my stories are in their 60’s.

3 Likes

Hi there young man! I rolled over 35 way back yonder, and post work here. My stuff is basically SF & Fantasy. I put up novels, novellas and short stories. Run a critique work group elsewhere.

1 Like
New friends old enemies unite and destroy!