Professional Writing - How much of that is spent Writing?

So, I’m aware that being a professional writer is WAY more than just sitting at your desk and banging out words. That’s most definitely one of the important bits, but here on Wattpad, and out there off Wattpad, branding is a huge thing. Interacting, reading, etc.

So, to any professional authors (be you WP authors in Paid programs, Stars, etc. or Published/Self-published authors) how much time do you spend networking compared to actually writing?

Is there a balance? How do you manage?

watching

1 Like

bookmarked

1 Like

*lurks *

You might ask in here: I'm an established full-time author - willing to answer questions if you have them

2 Likes

Thank you!

2 Likes

No worries :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Its prob done and over with, but if not, would you mind tagging me so I can go directly to your specific question?

1 Like

I just started it so I’ll tag you

1 Like

Oh wait, this is the thread. Nvm. At the top :slight_smile:

2 Likes

oops lol

1 Like

Np

1 Like

Good question Sara - I’d be interested to see people’s thoughts too :slight_smile:

1 Like

One thing that sticks in my mind from that long thread: Michael’s advice is not to bother with marketing until you have at least three books published, all of traditional publication quality. Then the ratio of marketing to writing should increase. Eventually a split of somewhere between 30-70 and 50-50 might make sense, but I don’t remember if that came from Michael.