Questions for a publishing pro?

It’s a lazy Sunday evening and I’ve got time to kill while I procrastinating writing (like you never do that), so I am up for answering any questions you might have about writing, publishing, craft, or anything related.

Why you should trust what I say: I’ve worked in various positions in the publishing industry for the past 12+ years, from editorial to agenting to bookselling to writing and more. I have several published nonfiction titles, but I’m here on Wattpad refining a novel I’ve been working on for way too many years and just need to get finished already.

So . . . any questions?

Hey !

I’m about to sign a contract with a traditionnal publishing house in the next few days and I wanted to know what should I pay attention to in the contract, what to be aware ? Do you have some tips ?

Thank you ! :smiley:

Hey there, what would you say are the most effective story descriptions that get publishers and readers interested?

What do you do when an author refuses to make changes to a story that you’ve suggested?

What are the restrictions for traditional publishing (ie. cover design)?

I’m not a publishing pro… but there is the contract that is here to force the author to make the changes… and if he doesn’t do it, the contract can be over I think

Oh wow, that is a biiiig topic. I can point out a few areas to look for, but if you’re not going to go with an agent I would seriously recommend having a publishing attorney review the contract before you sign. It might cost you a couple hundred dollars, but the time and money and anguish it could save you is worth ten times that, I promise.