Questions for authors who have self-published their books

I’m thinking of self-publishing in the near future. I don’t know if I’ll ever do it, but I’d like to be prepared regardless. So I want to ask authors who have self-published their books some questions, whether it’s online or in physical copies.

• How do you your book is qualified for self-publishing?
  • Which sites/agencies did you go to? Or do you wait for them to contact you?
  • If your book is required to be exclusively available there, do you delete your story on Wattpad or other writing site you’re using? Or do you leave few samples chapters on free writing site and give a link to your full book?

Sorry if these sounds a little silly or ridiculous, as I’m quite new to this. Is there anything else I need to know? Thanks in advance!

Oooooh I’m interested in this too

1 Like

I’m not self-published, but I’ve been researching the topic for quite a while now as I’ve been wondering about the route as well. :wink:

You honestly don’t know if your story is worth publishing at all or if you’re at a specific level of “talent.” With traditional publishing, you are given that external validation that you are ready for publication. Self-publishing doesn’t have that validation at all. The only thing you can really do is choose a story that you absolutely love and would love to see on the shelves and make sure every critic, beta reader, and editor give it a thumbs up before you set yourself on a road of craziness.

If you’re self-publishing, you don’t deal with an agency. Though I’ve heard about indie publishing which is totally different from self-publishing. I don’t really know much about indie publishing because there’s a lot of mixed information on the internet about them, especially since they’re kind of new(?)