Reader-Writer ratio on Wattpud

To those who have completed their stories:
In your experience, what’s the reader-writer ratio on Wattpad? The people who read my book are almost exclusively writers. I thought maybe it’s because it’s my first novel and it’s not yet finished. So I’m interested in the experience of those with completed stories.
Thanks so much!
Jona :slight_smile:

I have no real knowledge to answer your question, but my guess is almost everyone on wattpad are writers.

1 Like

I have noticed that I am getting more reader-only after my Watty win. But you have to check your analytics, your followers, that sort of thing. I don;t have time to delve into each of my followers profiles.

I do notice that the folks that comment on my chapters/books, and who vote more often are writers. They understand the importance of those wee stars and the comments, methinks.

4 Likes

I have ongoing stories on this account, but I’ve completed stories on another account. Most of your readers would also be writers, as most people on this website want to share their stories with others. I would say you’d get a much higher rate of exclusive readers if you’d won a wattys etc.

1 Like

There’s about 80 million users on Wattpad and about 10% of those are writers.

In the beginning it’s pretty normal to get more readers who’re also writers, but as you start growing you’ll notice more pure readers. And silent readers, lol.

8 Likes

:joy: Okay, I’m confused. My readers are almost all exclusively readers. I have like practically no writer/readers. I actually was really concerned because no writers were reading my work and I was trying to get feedback.

2 Likes

What type of story is it? Is it a romance?

I’m thinking your genre has something to do with it. Accumulating a pure reader base for Romance stories is a tad easier than for any other genre as the demographic that consumes Romance stories is larger.

1 Like

Yep!