Romance any one?

In the spirit of valentine’s, let’s talk about some romance. In every story, I have seen some sort of romance; wether it is the main point of the story or just a side plot. It is something that adds maybe tension or relief to a story. With romance there are things that people love and hate bout the genre, if that is having too much on the outside and not a lot on the inside for character, or the cheesy lines and how everything plays out. There is always some kind of romance in story, and if it is done well or not is questionable.
I personally try not to add too much romance as I am not an expert in it, nor have I been in many relationships. However, today I want to ask what all of you think about romance, how well is it done in different books, and genres. What cliches do you love and/ or hate about the genre? Which books play off the relationships well, and which ones fail?
I hope you all have a great day and a great valentines as well!

I personally love romance and have written over 30 here on Wattpad. I love the books that reunite characters after a period of time to mature, my leading men are never horrible or abusive and I have tied in other genre’s. I am a very sensitive person so it’s easy for me to get lost in emotion and I’m also funny so romantic comedies are a blast to write! I’ve been with my husband for almost 24 years and we met under circumstances that could almost be written as a romantic comedy.

I like romantic relationships that take time to build and develop. Unfortunately most romance stories out there involve instant attraction (purely physical attraction is fine) and love at first sight type thing, which feels so unrealistic.
These days I read mostly fantasy/adventure with a romance side plot E.g. I really like the way Sarah J Maas does it.
And the one I’m currently writing also veers away from the insta-attraction thing.

1 Like

I just wrote one that took over 20 years!